Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 1-Hour Ham and Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    1-Hour Ham and Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    81 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 81

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2010

      This was absolutely delicious. I did three cans of Goya Great Northern beans (processed one and put the other two in the soup) and a small can of tomato sauce instead of the 3 or 4 tablespoons it called for. Will most definitely make this again and have some crusty bread on the side. M-m-m-m-m!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      This is so good. I have never made this with canned beans but I will again. This is very easy. I used a ham bone since I had one. Thank you for sharing this with me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Great quick meal...we loved it. I didn't have any plain tomato sauce so I had to use a little marinara and it was still yummy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      This was the best ham and bean soup I've ever made. I added some sage because my mom always put sage in hers. I have never put garlic in ham and bean soup before and it made all the difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      We enjoyed this very much. We found this simple to put together soup every bit as tasty as the Ham and Bean Soups that take all day to prepare. I made this recipe as directed with the only exception being that I added a can of cannellini to the batch of pureed beans and also added more diced ham. This makes a lot of soup! Thanks for sharing, Kelly M : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      Good. easy. makes leftovers. everyone loved it. made a few changes .....used 2 large cans black beans, and added a large can of drained hominy. Will now be on my tried and true menu

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      I love this. But i had already started to soak my beans, when i found your recipe. So i basicly used your recipe. But i used 1lb of dried navy beans. and i cooked them in 2 pots. 1st pot had your beans and vegi's and broth with my ham bone. 2nd pot had 1/2 lb of beans and a piece of ham for flavor.. Cooked until soft. then puree them and added them to the 1st pot. It made it extra thick. awsome. thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      Loved this recipe! I added two more cans of beans which I had drained. We like thicker soups. My three kids and husband loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      Great flavor. I added a bit of liquid smoke. I would for sure add a couple more cans of beans next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Terrific soup, and easy. I too will use another can of beans next time. They don't sell Great Northern Beans in my area, so I used white kidney. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      I am rating this 5 stars because it had GREAT flavor. DH would have liked more beans, I think next time I would add an extra can of the beans as mentioned by another reviewer. I actually cooked it with the leftover ham bone in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      Love ham just for the soup! I actually didn't have tomato sauce so I mixed some diced tomatoes and a can a cream of potato soup to add the thickness to the soup. Like others, also added another can of whole beans. Good stuff, Kelly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      This soup was awesome. I used 3 cups of ham, 3 cans of beans (1 1/2 pureed) and 4 cups of chicken broth just to make more. I didn't use the tomato sauce becasue I didn't have it and it still turned out incredible!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      I was looking for a quick bean soup to make yesterday and your recipe fit that description. I added an 8 ounce can of tomato sauce and added an additional can of beans. My husband said this was a definate do over. I am planning on making it again next week for my Mother. Thanks, Chatty Patty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      Very easy and tasty! I started with the basic recipe and then adapted it to our tastes. I used about 3 cups of ham and sauted 2 cups with the vegetables. Then before adding the broth (14 oz low sodium chicken broth), I pureed 2 cans of small white beans with the ham and vegetable mixture, then returned this to the pot. I added the rest of the ham and another can of beans, an 8 oz can of no sodium tomato sauce and bunch of spinach ( for added nutrition and texture) some black pepper and red pepper flakes and let it simmer for a couple of hours. Delicious and hearty!! Thanks Kelly

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      I loved the simplicity of this soup. A combination of great simple flavors that are comforting and flavorful. Had this for lunch and found it very filling. Thanks for posting this easy soup recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      I followed the recipe exactly as listed except I used black beans in place of the great northern beans and only pureed half of the beans. Like some of the others, I will probably add 1 more can of whole beans. I will probably also add some chopped jalapeno peppers before serving, for extra flavor. This was a great last-minute dinner, very quick and easy to make, and my husband loved it. Will certainly be making this soup again. Thanks for sharing a great recipe, Kelly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      My husband said that this was in his top 5, possibly 3, soups ever. We thought it was better after a day in the fridge. I thought this was a bit bland. I used 2 T. tomato sauce and will add more next time. I think I'll add more garlic as well. This was an easy soup to make and have all of the ingredients on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      I altered this quite a bit, using various suggestions from other reviewers and my own ideas. I used the food processor to chop the celery, carrots and onions. It saved time, but I had to process it down pretty fine to get the carrots all chopped. I pureed the two cans of beans suggested by Home Cookin'n Vermont and took her idea for adding a cup of milk to the puree. I actually used heavy cream because I had some I needed to use. Made a very rich, creamy base for the soup. I also took richabby's advice and added a 1/2 cupof the soup mixture. These worked beautifully. Finally, at the end, I added a tablespoon of Sriracha hot sauce, because the soup seemed a bit bland. This gave the flavor zest without heat. All in all this was a good soup and pretty easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      Fabulous! Great for leftover christmas ham

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 1-Hour Ham and Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (357 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 401.7
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    26%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 36.4 mg
    12%
    Sodium 1167.5 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 14.1 g
    56%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 30.9 g
    61%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites