82 Reviews

Delicious! Ten stars, if there were such a category. I used chicken broth and a couple of leftover slices of black forest ham. I assumed it would end up like Campbell's bean and bacon soup, but was much better. When I open a can of tomato paste and just need a couple of tablespoons, I freeze the rest in 1 Tb. portions, so I just grabbed some of that out of the freezer instead of opening a can of tomato sauce.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donut Chef May 09, 2009

Oh my goodness, YUM! Thanks for a great recipe. The only thing I did different was that I simply mashed the beans down instead of sticking them in the processor...it was so quick and easy, and the soup turned out amazing. I can't wait to eat more of it!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HealthNutSarah July 09, 2009

While this was quick and easy, it was also rather bland.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoo66 September 27, 2011

Great recipe, Kelly M. An awesome use for leftover ham. I made it as posted except I used 3 cans of beans as some reviewers suggested. We really loved it. Thank you for posting!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MA in Florida April 20, 2007

What can I say except for YUMMY! Soup is absolutely delicious. I did change a couple of things after I read reviews. First of all, I doubled the recipe. I used 4 cans of great northern and one can of pork and beans. I pureed 3 cans of northern and added the other two cans of beans at the end. Also, I did not use tomato sauce, I added one can of diced tomatoes. Give this recipe a try. You'll love it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise Wolfe November 29, 2011

A nice, quick & easy recipe. I used water and the overall soup was a little bland. I added 2 bay leaves and 1 tsp of ground mustard powder and it really perfected my batch! I would highly recommend this recipe. Next time, I will also add another can of beans like others have suggested.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keyshalc October 26, 2012

Nice, homey bean soup. I like that it's not loaded with fatty bacon. I added 2 full tsps of minced garlic. It was delicious. I think next time I'd add another can of beans just because I like my bean soups loaded with beans. Thanx!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* September 28, 2011

WOW! I agree 10 stars if there were! This was my first time making ha and bean soup as my husbands grandma has alwways made it for him, so to say the leas ti had BIG shoes to fill. He loved it as well as our teenager, i served this with homemade corn bread and it was AMAZING! One thing i did was used twice the amount of beans just for my husbands preference, he likes all of his chilis, soups etc VERY thick! I was told how good it was so many times i may have blushed! Thanls for the great easy recipie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
liztucker172 July 17, 2012

Very tasty! I tried to stick to the recipe for my first trial. I added 2 heaping cups of ham to use up what I had. I also left out 1 1/4 cups of the beans, and as someone else mentioned, next time, I might add more beans just for personal preference. I used 1.5 tablespoons of tomato paste, mixed with 1/8 c of water in lieu of sauce. And I had to sub. the 1/2 cup of water for stock in the blender because I ran out. I was worried about that but really the taste was still good. I didn't add any spice except the pepper and I was pleased. I suppose it could be 'doctored up' if you liked something spicier but really this is a great recipe as is!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Left Handed Chef February 21, 2011

Most excellent down home comfort soup! My entire famliy loves this soup...2 picky kids and my DH! I used canned Pork N Beans and removed the pork. Soup has a hint of sweetness. Great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cenexgirl December 30, 2010
1-Hour Ham and Bean Soup