Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 1-Hour Ham and Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    1-Hour Ham and Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    80 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 80

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2009

      Delicious! Ten stars, if there were such a category. I used chicken broth and a couple of leftover slices of black forest ham. I assumed it would end up like Campbell's bean and bacon soup, but was much better. When I open a can of tomato paste and just need a couple of tablespoons, I freeze the rest in 1 Tb. portions, so I just grabbed some of that out of the freezer instead of opening a can of tomato sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      Oh my goodness, YUM! Thanks for a great recipe. The only thing I did different was that I simply mashed the beans down instead of sticking them in the processor...it was so quick and easy, and the soup turned out amazing. I can't wait to eat more of it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

      While this was quick and easy, it was also rather bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2007

      Great recipe, Kelly M. An awesome use for leftover ham. I made it as posted except I used 3 cans of beans as some reviewers suggested. We really loved it. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2012

      A nice, quick & easy recipe. I used water and the overall soup was a little bland. I added 2 bay leaves and 1 tsp of ground mustard powder and it really perfected my batch! I would highly recommend this recipe. Next time, I will also add another can of beans like others have suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      What can I say except for YUMMY! Soup is absolutely delicious. I did change a couple of things after I read reviews. First of all, I doubled the recipe. I used 4 cans of great northern and one can of pork and beans. I pureed 3 cans of northern and added the other two cans of beans at the end. Also, I did not use tomato sauce, I added one can of diced tomatoes. Give this recipe a try. You'll love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      Nice, homey bean soup. I like that it's not loaded with fatty bacon. I added 2 full tsps of minced garlic. It was delicious. I think next time I'd add another can of beans just because I like my bean soups loaded with beans. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2012

      WOW! I agree 10 stars if there were! This was my first time making ha and bean soup as my husbands grandma has alwways made it for him, so to say the leas ti had BIG shoes to fill. He loved it as well as our teenager, i served this with homemade corn bread and it was AMAZING! One thing i did was used twice the amount of beans just for my husbands preference, he likes all of his chilis, soups etc VERY thick! I was told how good it was so many times i may have blushed! Thanls for the great easy recipie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Very tasty! I tried to stick to the recipe for my first trial. I added 2 heaping cups of ham to use up what I had. I also left out 1 1/4 cups of the beans, and as someone else mentioned, next time, I might add more beans just for personal preference. I used 1.5 tablespoons of tomato paste, mixed with 1/8 c of water in lieu of sauce. And I had to sub. the 1/2 cup of water for stock in the blender because I ran out. I was worried about that but really the taste was still good. I didn't add any spice except the pepper and I was pleased. I suppose it could be 'doctored up' if you liked something spicier but really this is a great recipe as is!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      Most excellent down home comfort soup! My entire famliy loves this soup...2 picky kids and my DH! I used canned Pork N Beans and removed the pork. Soup has a hint of sweetness. Great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      Great Soup Kelly! I used 3 cans of cannellini beans instead of great northern and homemade hamstock using Jellyqueen's Ham Stock. No need for milk or cornstarch in my soup as others had used. It was quick and easy with the food processor to cut up the veggies and 6 quick pulses of the 2 cans of beans and 2 tbls. of tomato sauce. Then just added the remaining whole can of beans, covered and simmered. This is a keeper for me. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2005

      Really good & flavorful. I really like the pureeing of the beans step; it adds a good thickness. I made this in a soup pot, but then combined the pureed beans/tomato sauce & the veggie-ham-broth mixture in a Crock-Pot & put it on high for about 3 hours. It worked great. Thanks for an easy, flavorful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2003

      Great is an underestimate for this recipe; this was INCREDIBLE; it tastes better than the homemade version made at my moms catering business that a professional chef has made. I've always wanted to cook a homemade ham and bean soup and this recipe is perfect. I followed this recipe exactly; I used water vs. the ham stock and I added 1 large cube of ham boullion during the boiling process. And so easy: no ham bone, no overnight soaking of beans. Thanks for passing on a great recipe; I will be making this for many years to come and passing it on to others.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2014

      I love this recipe. I always liked Campbell's bean with bacon, but this is much, much better! A great way to use up some of that leftover Easter ham.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2014

      Incredible!! Even my incredibly picky eater ate this right down!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      This was my first time making ham and bean soup...delicious! I followed this recipe very closely, however, I did not use a food processor for the beans/sauce. I just added the beans after the 10 minute boiling process and it worked well. I used 3 1/2 cups chicken bullion and would cut that down next time, my fault! However, I also will double the recipe as this was gone in a heartbeat! It was hearty, delicious, and quick. What more can you ask for? Next time, I think I'll add potatoes in too. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2013

      Oh my! This soup is easy to prepare and so delicious. I did drain most of the liquid from the beans and as another suggested I mashed the beans before adding to liquid. The next time I make I think I will puree one can of beans and mash two others. I don't think I'll be making my crockpot ham and bean soup ever again! Thanks, Kelly, this soup is so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2013

      This soup was very good and very filling on a very dreary day. I am lazy, so I used my food processor to dice up the carrot, celery and onion. Then I used pre-cubed ham in this soup. I think this recipe could use a little bit more spice, but that is a very easy adjustment. I loved how fast it was to have a filling soup on the table tonight. I served our soup sprinkled with Parmesan cheese and with crusty bread. Thank you for a warm and filling soup Kelly M. I made this for 2013 Zaar Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2013

      This was a great quick soup. I did not have ham, so I used some bacon and polish sausage that I had on hand. No tomato sauce, so I used tubed tomato paste that I always have on hand. Added a little rosemary and a bay leaf. Also had some Italian bread I had to use up, so I cut that up to help thicken it up. You definitely inspired me. Thank You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 1-Hour Ham and Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (357 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 401.7
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    26%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 36.4 mg
    12%
    Sodium 1167.5 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 14.1 g
    56%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 30.9 g
    61%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites