56 Reviews

Thanks so much for sharing. My four year old daughter loves this recipe. It is now her #1 favorite, she is always requesting it. I've made it for her about 4 times now. She has thirds every time I serve this! I love the fact that it is so easy to make. If I don't have the ingredients at home then I can stop and pick them up on my way home from work using the express lane and it so easy to remember the ingredients list. It is warm, gooey, and yummy. We like to use the mini tator tots.

Updated: forgot to add stars

2nd update: since the meat is fully cooked you only have to cook this dish for the time listed on the tator tot package. I usually cover it the majority of the time then remove the foil for the last 5 minutes. Much FASTER this way.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
"mom of girls" April 17, 2011

Very good and quick to prepare. I added some diced onion to the hamburger meat while it browned. I agree with other reviewers that it needed a little more seasoning. Next time I will use cans of soup, and some lawry's seasoning salt to the meat mixture. This is a great starting point for a tater tot casserole! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KansasChef February 19, 2009

DH and I were really suprised at how much we enjoyed this. Five stars for Fast, Flavorful and Filling. Can't go wrong with this one!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SloppyJoe July 09, 2011

I gave this recipe 4 stars. My future hubby and I really liked this recipe. This is such a simple and easy recipe to make. This also has a really good flavor for such a simple dish. The only change I made to this recipe was to use 1 pound of tater tots as that's what I had left to use up, but that was still plenty of tater tots. Overall I will so make these again for sure! Thanks for posting a really good recipe! Christine (internetnut)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut February 18, 2010

Used 3 lbs venison burger, added the onion and garlic powder, and pepper when browning meat - once cooked through added 1 can crm of chix and 1 can crm of mushroom and 1/2 can of milk, Mixed in well with meat, placed half tots in bottom of pan, poured meat mix on top of tots, put shredded cheddar and velveeta mixture on top of meat, and topped it off with remaining tots. Excellent! My guy loved it and went for thirds. So fast, cheap, and easy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissChristy January 27, 2010

What a very good fun meal to have for family. I would also like to add onion to it. As simple as it is that is just as simply it taste. Great !!! Thank You.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braunda November 02, 2009

Good easy recipe for the family. It could use just a little something extra though to spice it up.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rich3 October 25, 2009

Have made this several times now and family always enjoys it! I used crm of chicken, (as we dont care for mushrooms), seasoned the beef while browning, and I also add cubed velveeta to the hamburger for extra cheesy flavor. Comfort food at it's best ! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deedles9395 October 10, 2009

We may just be a picky bunch, but this just didn't work out for us. We each had a serving but didn't enjoy it much. We threw out the rest. I guess we just prefer hamburgers and tater tots seperated. Thanks for the idea though!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amandala July 09, 2009

Easy, yes ! But we didnt like this much. Really boring. I did add a chopped onion and garlic powder to the beef. But it was still too bland. I wold have preferred tater tots the normal way and a hamburger on the grill. I was kinda disappointed since it had some good reviews... I did additionally add 1/2 a can of cream of chicken soup with the cream of mushroom. Oh well - cant please us all LOL .

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Danny June 08, 2009
1,2,3,4, Tater Tot Casserole