Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 1-2-3-4 Cake With Caramel Icing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    1-2-3-4 Cake With Caramel Icing

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2013

      I've been baking for 20+ years, and wouldn't try to make caramel icing (impatient). I looked for a homemade recipe that wasn't cooked the traditional time-consuming way. Viola, this is the perfect recipe....made it several times and my customers LOVE it!! Made the first batch with light brown sugar and the unsalted butter, way too sweet. I now use salted butter and dark brown sugar and that made it perfect. I don't get the stiffness the other reviewers get.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      Great cake and icing. I might try it next time as cupcakes. The batch and a half icing recipe was plenty to cover the cake. I added a tablespoon of vanilla flavor to the icing, which really brought it together. Thanks for sharing. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      This cake is outstanding, and the caramel icing is so very rich. I've been requested several times to make this one. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2014

      We have been making this recipe for years. It's a family favorite. Add 1 or 2 tablespoons of Karo to keep the icing from getting too stiff!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      Delicious cake with scrumptious icing!! I made a double batch of icing to make sure there was enough....was able to generously ice the cake and had icing left over...well worth the effort....will definitely bake this one again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      I have never made the cake portion of this recipe but I have made the icing several times and it is outstanding! My hubby likes snickers bars and I was trying to be creative so I put this icing on a milk chocolate cake, drizzled with more caramel (Caramel Sauce) and some peanuts! YUM!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      I only made the icing, but it was so sweet and delicious. I only had light brown sugar, so the color was a little lighter, but it tasted wonderful. Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      used the icing only, put it on a box caramel cake mix. It was great! Frosted a bundt cake generously, and tasted great. Got "stiff" in a hurry, may thin it with a little maple syrup next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      My grandmother made this cake when I was a kid. I could not find my copy of her recipe, but this one worked out fine. I baked it in a tube pan for about an hour. A single batch of the frosting is plenty to cover the bundt type shape. I took the cake to a party and it was a hit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      This is an easy receipe the cake was fluffy and the icing was very easy - there was another review on this cake stating that the ingredients should be double in order to ice the entire 3 layers and that's correct. I didn't follow her advise and my cake came up short on the icing. Other than that very very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2006

      A very good cake. I think that older people used to called this a pudding type cake or day-dinner pudding. It was quick and easy to put together and did not take very long to cook. The caramel icing is good also. It is the first time that I correctly made it. I substituted partially reconstitued evaporated milk for the milk in the caramel icing recipe. Instead of 1:1 ratio, I used a 1:4 ratio. I tastes wonderful and rich.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2014

      I have been using this icing recipe for a couple of years now. It is ALWAYS a huge success!! I have made it with both dark brown & light brown sugar; both are excellent. I would say the dark brown sugar is a little "heavier", which I like. However, my mother in law prefers the icing made with light brown sugar. As has been suggested, I make a batch & a half, there is plenty of icing to adequately cover your cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      I oNly made the icing anD it tasted great! Only problem I had was the icing got really stiff before I could get the whole cake finished. Any suggestions on how to correct this?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      Sorry...3 tasted the cake & found it heavy & not alot of taste...alot of work....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 1-2-3-4 Cake With Caramel Icing

    Serving Size: 1 (174 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 635.3
     
    Calories from Fat 232
    36%
    Total Fat 25.8 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 15.7 g
    78%
    Cholesterol 126.5 mg
    42%
    Sodium 136.5 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 96.7 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 70.8 g
    283%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes