Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 1-2-3-4 Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    1-2-3-4 Cake

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 26, 2011

      Great recipe. Made for I recommend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Exactly the recipe I needed! This makes 3 thick layers so I often bake mine as 6 layers instead. This goes great with any icing or filling. I even used it to make a Tiramisu cake. Updated to mention that I have been using this recipe to make wedding cakes, it's a great basic recipe that goes well with all kinds of fillings and icings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      This is the best butter type layer cake I have ever used and, I also, got it from my mother. Very versatile and can be used for many purposes, including strawberry shortcake. My favourite topping is a chocolate fudge icing. Suggest that new bakers do not substitute margarine for the butter and also no shortcuts when it comes to the beating of the butter and sugar. My only negative comment (and this is personal preference) I still prefer to separate the yolks from the whites and fold in the latter. Thanks for submitting this cake Fauve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      This was my dear Mom's recipe and the first one she taught me! Thanks for the wonderful memory. The only difference was she separated her eggs, added only the yolks when the recipe calls for "eggs" and whipped the egg whites till they peak. When the batter is done, fold in the egg whites and the vanilla. Makes a super light cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      Wonderful recipe! Last week, I made a coconut cake with 1/2 cup coconut added to batter and I added some coconut to frosting and topped it off with a little toasted coconut. Also, today, I tried this out for a 12" marble cake. I need two 12" tiers for a wedding cake soon and one recipe is perfect for one 12" layer. I mixed as directions state and then reserved 1 1/2 cup of the mix which I added 1/4 cup cocoa to for the marbling effect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      This was the only cake my grandmother knew how to make, so I'm the third generation to use it. It's also delicious with some grated coconut thrown in, and with coconut icing. It will also survive being made with EggBeaters, skim milk, etc., if you worry about that. Terrific cake recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      Good cake! Great to turn into a 6 layer cake. Either cut the three layers in half or bake 6 layers, about 15 minutes at 350. A good frosting recipe to go with this is: 1 cup sugar, 1/3 cup cocoa powder, 1/2 cup butter, 2/3 cup half-and-half, 2 tablespoon corn syrup, 1/8 teaspoon salt, 1 (16-ounce) box confectioners' sugar, sifted, plus 1 cup, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. Mix sugar, cocoa, butter, half-and-half, corn syrup, and salt in a saucepan, stir, and bring to a boil. Continue to boil, stirring occasionally for 3 minutes or until thick. Remove syrup from heat, and beat in the confectioners' sugar and vanilla extract with an electric mixer. Allow frosting to rest for a couple of minutes. At this time, if the frosting is too thick for spreading, add a bit of half-and-half, 1 tablespoon at a time, to bring frosting to proper spreading consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      Easy and goooood.Edge

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2006

      this is one of the 1st cakes i learned to make . i loved this recipe .thanks for posting dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 1-2-3-4 Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (120 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 413.1
     
    Calories from Fat 161
    39%
    Total Fat 17.9 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 10.7 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 105.5 mg
    35%
    Sodium 565.9 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.6 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 33.4 g
    133%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites