Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 1-1-1 Tempura Batter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    1-1-1 Tempura Batter

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on September 25, 2013

      Very good for a basic, 3-ingredient batter. For a little more flavor I added salt and pepper to the mix. Since I was cooking just for myself, I cut it in half, using 1/2 cup ice water and 1/2 cup flour, but still used a whole egg. Can't stop eating my tempura red pepper strips. Will try it on sweet potato next, as that's my favorite tempura ingredient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2011

    • on May 25, 2011

      This was great with fried fish! I substituted a little cornstarch and beer instead of water. I will use this recipe again and again. My only complaint was that it made a lot more than I needed so I will need to get more fish next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      Wins in the easy category! I used 1/2 c flour and 1/2 cornstarch, plus some salt and pepper. Used on nugget-sized pieces of frozen catfish, 2 minutes, flipped, 3 minutes, flipped again for about a minute to brown. Don't do too many at a time because it lowers the temperature.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

      Love that this is such a simple recipe to remember. I did add about 1/4 cup corn starch to lighten it up just a bit. I also added some salt, garlic powder, onion powder, and pepper to give it some taste. I did a small test batch of mushrooms, just 3 or 4, to get the seasoning adjusted before frying up the rest of the veggies (red and yellow bell pepper strips, cauliflower, mushrooms, onions, and zucchini). For a little added zip a dash or two of Tony Chachere's is perfect! (11)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      I was looking for the basic recipe for this version. Oh and if it's too "bland". Add some sesame oil to your frying oil. Gives it a savory nutty flavor. I use vegetable oil as that's what I fry in the most. A nice dashi or my chili teriyaki recipe is a good add to it. Sweet potatoes are my favorite fried food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      yummy and easy!! boyfriend used it to make deep fried chicken wings and deep fried dill pickles!! thanks Krsi!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      super easy to make, good stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      This was an easy but very bland recipe. It seemed to be missing something. I did try to fix it by adding salt but it was still too tasteless for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      i loved this recipe it was so easy to remember. so easy, i was a bit skeptical but my vegetable tempura came out perfect! don't worry about cooking your vegetables first folks! i fried up broccoli, cauliflower and carrots and everything came out fine. i did make sure the pieces i fried were bite size to ensure that they would cook thoroughly. also i did add two tablespoons of cornstarch to the batter. i don't think it made much of a difference though...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      I love this recipe, easy to remember. I sometimes add paprika to the batter and sprinkle "Alpine Touch" to the fried vegies. Great Job little one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2006

      very simple, everyone enjoyed it, and easy to remember.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      This is an excellent tempura batter. We used it on assorted vegetables and it worked perfectly. Thanks for sharing, Krsi Sue. It's a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      ok

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2006

      This worked like a charm! I used this on zucchini, cheese stuffed squash blossoms,and carrots. My very picky 3 y/o DS really enjoyed it...and ate his vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 1-1-1 Tempura Batter

    Serving Size: 1 (412 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 526.5
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    10%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 186.0 mg
    62%
    Sodium 80.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 95.7 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 19.1 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes