15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good for a basic, 3-ingredient batter. For a little more flavor I added salt and pepper to the mix. Since I was cooking just for myself, I cut it in half, using 1/2 cup ice water and 1/2 cup flour, but still used a whole egg. Can't stop eating my tempura red pepper strips. Will try it on sweet potato next, as that's my favorite tempura ingredient.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LindaE September 25, 2013

This was great with fried fish! I substituted a little cornstarch and beer instead of water. I will use this recipe again and again. My only complaint was that it made a lot more than I needed so I will need to get more fish next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandymershon May 25, 2011

Wins in the easy category! I used 1/2 c flour and 1/2 cornstarch, plus some salt and pepper. Used on nugget-sized pieces of frozen catfish, 2 minutes, flipped, 3 minutes, flipped again for about a minute to brown. Don't do too many at a time because it lowers the temperature.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc March 19, 2011

Love that this is such a simple recipe to remember. I did add about 1/4 cup corn starch to lighten it up just a bit. I also added some salt, garlic powder, onion powder, and pepper to give it some taste. I did a small test batch of mushrooms, just 3 or 4, to get the seasoning adjusted before frying up the rest of the veggies (red and yellow bell pepper strips, cauliflower, mushrooms, onions, and zucchini). For a little added zip a dash or two of Tony Chachere's is perfect! (11)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPsBarbie March 03, 2011

I was looking for the basic recipe for this version. Oh and if it's too "bland". Add some sesame oil to your frying oil. Gives it a savory nutty flavor. I use vegetable oil as that's what I fry in the most. A nice dashi or my chili teriyaki recipe is a good add to it. Sweet potatoes are my favorite fried food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noirmuse January 12, 2011

yummy and easy!! boyfriend used it to make deep fried chicken wings and deep fried dill pickles!! thanks Krsi!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes May 10, 2009

super easy to make, good stuff!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JL in Miami Beach, FL December 28, 2008

This was an easy but very bland recipe. It seemed to be missing something. I did try to fix it by adding salt but it was still too tasteless for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Char Jensen December 31, 2007

i loved this recipe it was so easy to remember. so easy, i was a bit skeptical but my vegetable tempura came out perfect! don't worry about cooking your vegetables first folks! i fried up broccoli, cauliflower and carrots and everything came out fine. i did make sure the pieces i fried were bite size to ensure that they would cook thoroughly. also i did add two tablespoons of cornstarch to the batter. i don't think it made much of a difference though...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ayiti_cherie August 19, 2007
1-1-1 Tempura Batter