Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Community Forums / Special Diets, Food Allergies/Restrictions/Substitutions, Exercise and General Dieting Tips / What do I sub eggs with to make a non-dairy pumpkin pie?
    Lost? Site Map

    What do I sub eggs with to make a non-dairy pumpkin pie?

    PamelaFrank
    Mon Jul 22, 2013 12:27 pm
    Newbie "Fry Cook" Poster
    So, my son has a wonderful new girlfriend who is lactose intolerant which is a condition that I have no experience cooking for. I found out that her favorite pie is pumpkin and I found a non-dairy pumpkin pie recipe, but on list of ingredients it calls for 2 large eggs and 1 egg white. Everything else is fine but I don't think she can handle eggs. Do I just use some type of egg substitute or is there a special ingredient out there for this type of pie that replaces eggs? Any help would be greatly appreciated!!
    Molly53
    Mon Jul 22, 2013 1:42 pm
    Forum Host
    PamelaFrank wrote:
    So, my son has a wonderful new girlfriend who is lactose intolerant which is a condition that I have no experience cooking for. I found out that her favorite pie is pumpkin and I found a non-dairy pumpkin pie recipe, but on list of ingredients it calls for 2 large eggs and 1 egg white. Everything else is fine but I don't think she can handle eggs. Do I just use some type of egg substitute or is there a special ingredient out there for this type of pie that replaces eggs? Any help would be greatly appreciated!!
    Lactose intolerant does not mean egg-free, Pam.

    If she IS allergic to eggs, you're going to want a vegan recipe, such as these:
    Vegan Pumpkin Pie and Crust
    Soy Free, Vegan, Dairy Free, Delicious Pumpkin Pie!

    or this one:
    Tikvenik - Bulgarian Sweet Pumpkin Pie (sub vegan margarine for the butter)

    If you give any of the recipes a try, reviews are very much appreciated. See HOW TO WRITE A GREAT REVIEW (link) for more information. Leave zero stars for comments only.

    Welcome to food.com. It's really nice to meet a new friend. icon_smile.gif
    PamelaFrank
    Mon Jul 22, 2013 2:40 pm
    Newbie "Fry Cook" Poster
    Thanks Molly. When my son said no dairy, I just assumed eggs were part of that group. I've never had to really think much about it since none of my family have ever suffered from any type of allergies. Actually I was a little shocked that they are not dairy! How did I never hear this beings I grew up on a farm? But as soon as I get an all clear on the egg situation I'm all set to bake her favorite pie. And if she can't have eggs I will be sure to try your recipes and leave a comment! I'll probably try them anyway since I feel like I've entered a whole new cooking world! I've got a ton of fresh berries from my bushes and I plan on being creative!
    Thanks again and glad to meet you!
    Molly53
    Mon Jul 22, 2013 7:28 pm
    Forum Host
    The most common foods that are high in lactose include dairy products such as milk, ice cream, butter, margarine and cheese. Lactose is also added to some foods, such as bread and baked goods, cereals, salad dressings, candies, and snacks.

    Dairy Products to Avoid
    Butter and butter fat
    Cheese, including cottage cheese and cheese sauces
    Cream, including sour cream
    Custard
    Milk, including buttermilk, powdered milk, and evaporated milk
    Yogurt
    Ice cream
    Pudding

    Foods With Milk in Them
    These foods often contain cow's milk protein. Check their labels before buying. If you're eating out, ask if milk was used to make them:
    Au gratin dishes and white sauces
    Baked goods -- bread, cookies, crackers, cakes
    Cake mix
    Cereals
    Chewing gum
    Chocolate and cream candy
    Coffee creamers
    Creamed or scalloped foods
    Donuts
    Malted milk
    Margarine
    Mashed potatoes
    Meats -- canned and processed, including cold cuts and deli meats
    Nougat, found in some candy
    Salad dressings
    Sherbet

    Ingredients With Milk
    If you see these listed on a label, the food has milk proteins in it:
    Artificial butter or cheese flavor
    Casein or caseinates
    Curd
    Ghee
    Hydrolysates
    Lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate
    Lactose, lactoglobulin, lactoferrin, lactulose
    Rennet
    Whey or whey products
    Stop sending e-mails when someone replies
    Add this to My Favorite Topics
    Alert us of inappropriate posts

    Free Weekly Newsletter

    Get the latest recipes and tips delivered right to your inbox.

    Your e-mail is safe. Privacy Policy
    Advertisement

    Ideas from Food.com

    Powered by phpBB 2.0.1 © 2002 phpBB Group

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites