Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Community Forums / Gluten-free Diet / Celiac Disease / Grain fed beef or chicken
    Lost? Site Map

    Grain fed beef or chicken

    **Jubes**
    Sat Feb 02, 2013 3:16 pm
    Forum Host
    Being on a gluten-free diet for life means questioning everything that you plan to eat. We read labels constantly , including for products we buy on a regular basis........you just never know when a brand will change the recipe or ingredients used. We think about foods that are naturally gluten-free and how we can cook them or incorporate them into our diets. Through no choice of our own, we have to constantly think about food, Can I eat it? , Where can I eat?, Is it gluten-free? Are there possible hidden ingredients that might not be gluten-free?......and so on.

    Many people question if they can eat meat from grain fed animals or eggs from chickens fed on grains and other non-gluten-free products.



    I found this information on my society's website and thought that it was worth sharing.

    .


    This information is credited to Dr Jason Tye-Din who is a consultant gastroenterologist for The Royal Melbourne Hospital.

    "All fresh meat and eggs will be gluten free regardless of what diet the animal had in life. All food eaten by an animal is broken down by the digestive process into smaller components (for instance protein is broken down into amino acids). These basic building blocks are then reassembled to make body tissue such as muscle or egg protein. Therefore any cereal protein eaten by the animal (whether it contains gluten or not) will be broken down by digestion, and gluten will not become incorporated into the animal's tissue, whether it be beef meat or chicken egg. The nutritional value of the meat may differ depending on whether the animal's diet was predominantly grain or grass, but in both cases the meat is gluten free. To label eggs as gluten free is correct, but can cause some confusion as it implies some eggs could be gluten containing, and this is not the case.
    Processing of meat or eggs, the use of gluten-containing sauces or contamination during preparation are far more relevant issues that could cause these foods to be gluten containing and therefore unsafe to people with coeliac disease. Consideration of these factors when maintaining a gluten free diet is therefore most important. "
    Stop sending e-mails when someone replies
    Add this to My Favorite Topics
    Alert us of inappropriate posts

    Free Weekly Newsletter

    Get the latest recipes and tips delivered right to your inbox.

    Your e-mail is safe. Privacy Policy
    Advertisement

    Ideas from Food.com

    Powered by phpBB 2.0.1 © 2002 phpBB Group

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites