Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Community Forums / Gluten-free Diet / Celiac Disease / what are gluten free ingredients?
    Lost? Site Map

    what are gluten free ingredients?

    Kawaiineko32
    Wed Apr 28, 2010 6:54 pm
    Food.com Groupie
    I already have an idea of what ingredients contain gluten and what don't. However there are a few I'm unsure about. These are: cornmeal, polenta, and rice (any kind of rice).

    I have Aspberger's and it was recommended to me that
    should have a low-gluten/gluten free diet as a result.

    Do any dairy products contain glutinous ingredients? If so, what are they?
    **Jubes**
    Sat May 01, 2010 2:31 am
    Forum Host
    wave.gif Hi Kawaiineko32

    Dry polenta and cornmeal are both from corn and gluten-free

    All varieties of rice are gluten-free .....including glutinous rice varieties.

    All plain, unflavored dairy that is not thickened will be gluten-free.
    Plain milk- all varieties are gluten-free. You will need to check the ingredients list if you are buying flavored milk.
    Cheese- all are naturally gluten-free......but dont purchase the ready grated cheeses as they often use flours to keep them from clumping. Be careful also of cheese that have added ingredients. Cream cheese is also gluten-free
    Soy/Rice and nut milks- mostly gluten-free but you will need to check the ingredient lists. Again-be careful of the flavored varieties
    Ice-cream- You can get gluten-free ice-cream, though you will need to check each time you purchase.
    Sorbets- mostly gluten-free....check labels
    Yogurt- Yogurt can be gluten-free. Again check labels. Many are thickened with flours.
    Crean- plain cream is gluten-free. Check 'thickened' creams as they can be thickened with flours,gums or gelatin/gelatine. (gelatin and agar are gluten-free)

    Hope this helps you

    Julie
    E-mail me when someone replies to this
    Add this to My Favorite Topics
    Alert us of inappropriate posts

    Free Weekly Newsletter

    Get the latest recipes and tips delivered right to your inbox.

    Your e-mail is safe. Privacy Policy
    Advertisement

    Ideas from Food.com

    Powered by phpBB 2.0.1 © 2002 phpBB Group

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites