Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Community Forums / Beverages & Cooking with Spirits / Vegan wines - a re-run !!
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan wines - a re-run !!

    Wineaux
    Sun May 13, 2012 12:41 pm
    Forum Host
    Hope, I thought I had presented some info on vegan/vegetarian wines before, and guess what! I found it to share again! Here she goes:


    From food to wine, folks are looking for healthier alternatives to preservative-laden fare or products that are produced using harsh chemicals in fertilizers and pesticides.

    Organic wines are produced with only natural fertilizers and pesticides and as a bonus, have no sulfites added as preservatives.

    Those who are sensitive to sulfites often avoid wine, just as they avoid dried fruits that are produced with the anti-oxidants to keep them from becoming dry and stiff and sulfites used in salad bars that prevent the lettuce from browning.

    Some people have an allergic reaction to sulfites, ranging from nasal congestion and sneezing, skin hives, or wheezing and difficulty in breathing. Oh, yes, and don't forget the dreaded morning-after headaches!

    Trace amounts of sulfites are found in all wines as a natural by-product, but organically-produced wines are quite safe for most who are sensitive.

    Many of the organic wines are also vegan-friendly.

    Wondering why all wines are not vegan friendly? After all, wine is a plant product!
    The answer is that during the purification process, some wineries use gelatin (animal product) or a product made with egg white.

    Wineries that produce vegan-friendly wines use, instead, a form of natural clay to purify their wines. These wineries are global - the United States, Germany, Spain, Italy and some South American countries all produce some organic, vegan-friendly wines in nearly all of the varietals.

    So today, vegans and the sulfite-sensitive can pop the cork and sip delicious wines with their friends!

    Your wine consultant can get you up to speed on which wines are organic and vegan-friendly.

    Sante!!

    Read more: http://www.food.com/bb/viewtopic.zsp?t=184149#ixzz1uli2XgQ7
    JayMoses
    Sun Aug 12, 2012 3:34 am
    Newbie "Fry Cook" Poster
    The fining agent acts as a kind of a magnet and collects the unwanted matter in the wines. The then clear wine is moved off the sediment into a clean tank.spirits drinks


    Last edited by JayMoses on Sun Aug 12, 2012 9:15 am, edited 1 time in total
    Wineaux
    Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:59 am
    Forum Host
    Exactly !! Thanks for the addition !! icon_biggrin.gif
    Mama's Kitchen (Hope)
    Wed Aug 15, 2012 2:00 pm
    Food.com Groupie
    Great post!
    Stop sending e-mails when someone replies
    Add this to My Favorite Topics
    Alert us of inappropriate posts

    Free Weekly Newsletter

    Get the latest recipes and tips delivered right to your inbox.

    Your e-mail is safe. Privacy Policy
    Advertisement

    Ideas from Food.com

    Powered by phpBB 2.0.1 © 2002 phpBB Group

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites